UnitedWayUnited Way of San Luis Obispo County is proud to announce its local, volunteer leadership which has been elected for the 2014-15 year.


President – Alexis Okumura, owner, Alexis Interiors

Vice President, Community Impact – Dena Bellman, Park & Recreation specialist at CA Department of Parks & Recreation, Oceano Dunes District

Secretary – Debbie Lewis, retired principal

Treasurer – Ryan Caldwell, partner and wealth advisor at RE Wacker Wealth Partners

New Directors:

Ashlee Akers – vice president, client services at Verdin

Leila Assal – Arroyo Grande high school student and United Way youth board president

Ryan Caldwell – partner and wealth advisor at RE Wacker Wealth Partners

Joyce Miklik – physician relation manager at Tenet Health Care

Brian Reynolds – retired director of San Luis Obispo County Libraries

Continuing Directors:

Marian Anderson – Vice president /Senior Relationship Manager at Union Bank

Carla Berkefeld – CPA at Glenn Burdette

Laurent Bernad – Analytical Services Manager at Promega Biosciences, Inc.

Penny Borenstein – MD, Health Officer/Public Health Administrator at SLO County Public Health Department

Kathleen Choal – President/General Manager at KSBY

Courtney Kienow – Marketing Director at Carmel & Naccasha, LLP

Christine Johnson – Council Member, City of Morro Bay

John Lindsey – Corporate Relations Representative and Meteorologist at PG&E

Ian Parkinson – Sheriff/Coroner at the County of San Luis Obispo

Directors Emeriti:

Frank Fertschneider – Community Volunteer

Thomas Sullivan – Community Volunteer

United Way of SLO County is an independent, nonprofit organization governed by a board of local volunteers. It is affiliated by membership with United Way Worldwide and strives to build a stronger, healthier, more compassionate community by investing in programs serving education, income and health. For more information call (805) 541-1234 or visit www.unitedwayslo.org.