United Way 2014 Excellence Award Recipient Union Bank

Photo: Marian Anderson (center) accepts the 2014 Excellence Award on behalf of Bank of America. Presented by Rick London, United Way of San Luis Obispo County CEO, and Alexis Okumura, President.

United Way of San Luis Obispo County held its Annual Recognition Event on Oct. 1, 2014 at Madonna Inn in San Luis Obispo and honored several local businesses and individuals for their contributions to the community and to United Way. United Way of San Luis Obispo County is very thankful for the sponsors for this event that allowed us to thank and recognize our supporters and volunteers. The event was sponsored by Joan G. Sargen. The venue was sponsored by Madonna Inn and reception donors included Opolo Vineyards and Standing Sun Winery.

The following awards were presented:

Business Awards
Excellence Award: Union Bank
Leadership Award: Lubrizol
Achievement Award: Promega Biosciences
Best New Workplace Giving Program: Shopatron
Community Spirit Award: Target San Luis Obispo

Community Member Awards
LIVE UNITED Award: Diane Lyman
Give Advocate Volunteer Award: Mark Sczbecki
Above & Beyond Award: Frank Fertschneider
Special Recognition: Aaron Steed

Nonprofit Awards
Innovation Award: RISE SLO
Community Impact Fund: 5Cities Homeless Coalition, Big Brothers Big Sisters of San Luis Obispo County, Central Coast Grown, Child Development Resource Center, Court Appointed Special Advocates of San Luis Obispo County, Inc., Food Bank Coalition of San Luis Obispo County, Partnership for the Children of San Luis Obispo County, Peoples’ Self-Help Housing, RISE San Luis Obispo County, San Luis Obispo County AIDS Support Network, San Luis Obispo County Alano Club, Senior Nutrition Program of San Luis Obispo County, Senior Volunteer Services, SLO Noor Foundation, The Literacy Council for San Luis Obispo County, Transitional Food and Shelter, Inc., and Women’s Shelter Program of San Luis Obispo County.

Certificates of recognition were presented to the recipients of the Community Member Awards from the offices of Congresswoman Lois Capps, Assemblyman Katcho Achadjian and the County Board of Supervisors.

For more information about these awards and recipients, contact United Way of San Luis Obispo County by calling (805) 541-1234.